the Passing DataBase

Nous attendons tous avec impatience le livre de Martin Frost. Ce sera certainement la référence ultime sur le sujet. Mais soyons patients, ce n'est pas pour tout de suite. Rassurez-vous, le passing a déjà fait couler un peu d'encre, et les ouvrages suivants devraient vous sustenter. Les critiques ci-dessous ne reflètent que mon opinion personnelle, utilisez les commentaires pour donner votre avis.


Titre : Kuka, Pop Juggling
Producteur, jongleurs : Laudigan Massive Production - Jay Gilligan et Manu Laude
Où acheter : http://www.popjuggling.com
Année : 2005

Ce DVD comprends "Kuka the pop juggling show" (18 mn) et 35 minutes de figures de passing.

Packaging, Menus DVD, Livraison
Le packaging est réussi et fait très professionnel. Je trouve le design vraiment excellent. Les menus ne sont pas vraiment hi-tech mais ils font l'affaire. L'intro du DVD (pas le trailer) est bien faite.
J'ai acheté sur Internet sans souci et j'ai reçu le DVD environ une semaine après.

Le Spectacle
Jay Gilligan et Manu Laude démontrent un haut niveau de passing massues et anneaux. Mieux que ça, ils montrent essentiellement des patterns ou figures originales, en proposant toute une série d'idées, à la fois nouvelles et visuelles, pour interragir avec un autre jongleur.
Quand j'ai vu Kuka a l'EJC 2004 à Carvin, j'ai trouvé ça un peu trop intense, et je n'ai pas pu l'apprécier complètement. J'ai eu l'impression que mon attention était nécessaire en permanence. Il n'y avait pas vraiment de hauts et de bas, mais juste une très longue partie haute en énergie.
Et c'est là que la vidéo prend tout son intérêt. Elle m'a permis de redécouvrir Kuka sous un nouveau jour, et d'en appécier toute la partie technique. J'aime aussi le style des deux jongleurs, qui restent fidèles à eux même sur scène, mais cela est une histoire de goûts. J'attends désormais de revoir le show en live.

Les Figures
La partie figures comprend 5 vidéos de massues et 2 vidéos d'anneaux. Elles ont été filmées en 2003, pendant la préparation du spectacle. On y retrouve toutes les parties techniques du spectacle, but aussi d'autres figures terribles qui n'en font pas partie.

Mon opinion
Vaut vraiment le coup.


Titre : Compendium Of Club Juggling
Auteur : Charlie Dancey
Editeur : Butterfinger, ISBN 1-898591-14-8
Année : 1995

Les ouvrages de Charlie Dancey sont les best-sellers parmi les livres de jongle : des textes détaillés, pédagogiques et humouristiques, des petits dessins et diagrammes partout pour mieux comprendre, une approche moderne de la jonglerie, et surtout des dizaines et des dizaines de figures ou concepts. Le Compendium est consacré aux massues en général, mais au moins 1/3 des articles traitent du passing sous tous ses aspects.

L'auteur y parle de tous les rythmes et passing classiques et en aborde certains un peu moins classiques (popcorn classique, PPS). On y trouve beaucoup de détails sur comment débuter et ramasser en continuant à jongler, ainsi que de nombreuses figures. Il explique aussi en détail les diagrammes de cause.

Le Compendium, c'est le livre de jongle qu'il vous faut si vous devez n'en acheter qu'un. Grâce à lui je connaissais déjà toute la théorie du passing avant même d'apprendre le 4-temps.


Titre : Patterns: A Manual of Club Passing
Auteur : Richard Dingman
Année : 1999

Ce livre a pris un sérieux coup de vieux (surprenant vu la date de publication), et semble maintenant complètement dépassé, tant sur le contenu que sur la terminologie, si l'on s'intéresse un peu aux diagrammes de cause, au siteswap, ou au passings des MAJ.

Assez orienté sur les passings à plusieurs personnes, il est cependant riche de contenu, mais n'apporte pas grand chose de nouveau.

Je suis un peu triste de devoir être aussi critique. N'hésitez pas à utiliser les commentaires pour faire entendre votre voix.


Titre : Club Passing: A Juggler's Guide To Social Interaction
Auteurs : Brendan Brolly, Simon Schofield, and Jonny Popper
Année : 1993

Le contenu est très intéressant, et l'on trouve ici une approche assez moderne du passing avec différents rythmes, de nombreuses figures, des passings à plusieurs et du passing ambidextre (7 massues 3-temps et ultimate, poste 1-temps à 10 massues). Les diagrammes de cause sont cependant absents.

C'était sûrement un très bon livre pour son époque (1993), on retrouve cependant l'essentiel du contenu et bien plus dans le Compendium.

the Passing DataBase

We're all looking forward to the day Martin Frost publishes his passing book. It probably will be the ultimate book about passing. But let us be patient, Martin still has a few things to polish.
Don't worry however, below is a list of a few books heavily concerned with passing. Feel free to use the comments at the bottom of the page for your opinion on these books.


Title: Kuka, Pop Juggling
Producer, jugglers: Laudigan Massive Production - Jay Gilligan and Manu Laude
Where to buy: http://www.popjuggling.com
Year: 2005

The DVD features "Kuka the pop juggling show", which is 18 minutes long, and 35 minutes of passing related tricks.

Packaging, DVD menus, Delivery
The packaging is great and very professional. The whole design is great in my opinion. The menus are not really fancy nor hi-tech, but they do the job. The intro (not the trailer) is excellent.
Buying on the Internet is no problem, I received the DVD a week after ordering it on the website.

The Show
Jay Gilligan and Manu Laude demonstrate a very high level of clubs and rings passing. But more than that, they perform mostly original tricks and patterns. There is a whole range of new ideas for interacting with another juggler, and they look great.
When I saw Kuka at EJC 2004 in Carvin, I found the show a bit too intense, and did not appreciate it fully. It gave me the feeling that the show required all of my attention at all time. There was no really low and high parts, there was a single high energy
part.
Now this is where having the video is great. It allowed me to completely rediscover Kuka from a new perspective and to appreciate all the technical new tricks buried in there. I also like both jugglers style, and they stay true to themselves in this show,
but this is a matter of personal taste. I'm now waiting to see the show a second time.

The Tricks
The tricks section features 5 clips with clubs and 2 with rings. There were shot in 2003, probably during the preparation of the show. All the tricks from the show are shown here, but also some great tricks that did not make it in the show.

My Opinion
Very much worth it.


Title: Compendium Of Club Juggling
Author: Charlie Dancey
Publisher: Butterfinger, ISBN 1-898591-14-8
Year: 1995

Best sellers among juggling books, Charlie Dancey's works take a modern approach to juggling, featuring detailed descriptions that are both instructive and humorous, illustrations and diagrams throughout for better understanding, and above all, countless patterns and concepts. The Compendium is dedicated to clubs in general, but at least 1/3 of the material deals with passing in all its forms.

The author deals with all classical rhythms and patterns, and also describes a few less classical ones (6-count popcorn, PPS). You will also find lots of explanations on how to start and to pick up while passing, as well a many different passing tricks. Causal diagrams are also explained in details.


The Compendium is a must-have--the book to buy if you only buy one. Thanks to it, I already knew most of the theory about passing before even learning the 4-count.


Title: Patterns: A Manual of Club Passing
Author: Richard Dingman
Year: 1999

This books really looks outdated now (which is surprinsing when you see the year it was published). When you've seen causal diagrams, siteswaps or some MAJ passing patterns, the whole book seems to come from another planet.

The books deals mostly with multi-person patterns and has a fairly rich content. It doesn't bring much new stuff however.

I'm sorry if this sounds a bit harsh. This is just my personal opinion. Feel free to use the comments to voice your opinion.


Title : Club Passing: A Juggler's Guide To Social Interaction
Authors: Brendan Brolly, Simon Schofield, and Jonny Popper
Year: 1993

The content is interesting, and passing is view here with a modern approach with many different rhythms, many tricks, multi-person patterns and ambidextrous patterns (7clubs 3-count and 1-count, 10 clubs 1-count feed). There are no causal diagrams however.

That was probably an excellent book at the time it was published (1993). Most of the content and even more can however be found in the Compendium.